Rock Hall Class of 2001

New York | Waldorf Astoria Hotel | March 19, 2001 | Private Event | VH1

These artists were voted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2000, but the induction ceremony took place in 2001. Click here for a list of artists who were first eligible in 2000 and haven't gotten in yet.

ArtistInducted ByCategory
AerosmithKid RockPerformer
The FlamingosFrankie ValliPerformer
Michael JacksonN SyncPerformer
Paul SimonMarc AnthonyPerformer
QueenDave Grohl and Taylor HawkinsPerformer
Ritchie ValensRicky MartinPerformer
Solomon BurkeMary J. BligePerformer
Steely DanMobyPerformer
Chris BlackwellBonoNon-Performer
James BurtonKeith RichardsSideman
Johnnie JohnsonKeith RichardsSideman

Nominees who didn't make the cut in 2001

These artists were officially nominated in the Performer category for induction in 2000, but didn't receive enough votes from the "international voting body of rock experts" to get in that year. Nearly 70% of rejected artists eventually get inducted in a later year.

ArtistEventually Inducted In
Black Sabbath2006
Bob Seger2004
Brenda Lee2002
Lou Reed2015
Lynyrd Skynyrd2006
New York DollsNot yet
Patti Smith2007

Nominating Committee who determined the 2001 performer ballot

Jon Landau, co-chairman
Seymour Stein, co-chairman
Bill Adler
Roger Ames
Michele Anthony
Gary Arnold
Steven Baker
Frank Barsalona
James Bernard
Jim Bessman
David Bither
Nathan Brackett
Harold Bronson
Clive Davis
Anthony DeCurtis
Don DeVito
Rob Dickins
Ahmet Ertegun
Suzan Evans, ex officio
Danny Fields
Jason Fine
Jim Fishel
Bill Flanagan
Larry Flick
Chet Flippo
David Fricke
Gregg Geller
Nelson George
Charlie Gillett
Jeff Gold
Danny Goldberg
Ruben Guevara
Peter Guralnick
Jim Henke
Bob Hilburn
David Hinckley
Robert Hull
Don Ienner
Jimmy Iovine
Jeff Jones
Lenny Kaye
Howie Klein
Bob Krasnow
Bill Levenson
Arthur Levy
Joe Levy
Roy Lott
Dave Marsh
Joe McEwen
Judy McGrath
Andy McKaie
Bob Merlis
David Mills
Doug Morris
Steve Morse
Andy Paley
Claudia Perry
Sylvia Rhone
Robbie Robertson
Lisa Robinson
Jon Savage
Bud Scoppa
Joel Selvin
Paul Shaffer
Tom Silverman
Joe Smith
Phil Spector
Terry Stewart
John Sykes
LeBaron Taylor
Al Teller
Roy Trakin
Harry Weinger
Jann Wenner
Craig Werner
Jerry Wexler
Adam White
Andy Wickham


This site is not affiliated with the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum.